Previous image Index Next image
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe | Victoria Falls - Zimbabwe (IMG_1160.jpg)

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

There are two islands on the crest of the falls that are large enough to divide the curtain of water even at full flood: Boaruka Island (or Cataract Island) near the western bank, and Livingstone Island near the middle - the point from which Livingstone first viewed the falls. At less than full flood, additional islets divide the curtain of water into separate parallel streams. The main streams are named, in order from Zimbabwe (west) to Zambia (east): Devil's Cataract, Main Falls, Rainbow Falls (the highest) and the Eastern Cataract.
Email to a friend
Share on Facebook
Copyright © Yair Karelic Photography. All rights reserved